Safety Directory › North Carolina › Greensboro

Is Greensboro, NC Safe? 2026 Crime Rates & Safety Report

Key facts

  1. 01

    Greensboro, North Carolina reported 111.87 robbery offenses per 100,000 residents in 2025, 2.32 times the national reference of 48.24 per 100,000 and 63.63 per 100,000 above that reference, with 334 annual reported offenses (FBI CDE 2025 profile).

  2. 02

    Greensboro, North Carolina reported 388.19 motor vehicle theft offenses per 100,000 residents in 2025, 2.01 times the national reference of 193.00 per 100,000 and 195.19 per 100,000 above that reference, with 1,159 annual reported offenses (FBI CDE 2025 profile).

  3. 03

    Greensboro, North Carolina reported 445.47 aggravated assault offenses per 100,000 residents in 2025, 1.94 times the national reference of 229.56 per 100,000 and 215.91 per 100,000 above that reference, with 1,330 annual reported offenses (FBI CDE 2025 profile).

  4. 04

    Greensboro, North Carolina reported 342.31 burglary offenses per 100,000 residents in 2025, 1.82 times the national reference of 188.15 per 100,000 and 154.16 per 100,000 above that reference, with 1,022 annual reported offenses (FBI CDE 2025 profile).

  5. 05

    Greensboro, North Carolina reported 1,606.02 larceny-theft offenses per 100,000 residents in 2025, 1.45 times the national reference of 1,106.97 per 100,000 and 499.05 per 100,000 above that reference, with 4,795 annual reported offenses (FBI CDE 2025 profile).

Quick answer

In the Safety Atlas 2026 public safety index, Greensboro, NC has an adjusted safety score of 21.51 out of 100. It ranks #4 in this comparison set out of the 6 jurisdictions in the current scored comparison set in North Carolina. Its overall crime trajectory is currently classified as decreasing.

21.51 / 100
Adjusted safety score
Personal safety34.26
Property security6.08
Community order12.8

2026 edition, FBI source year 2025.

Analyst takeaways · computed from the 2025 monthly series

Greensboro in 7 numbers

  1. Aggravated assault headlines a partial reporting year. 1,330 reports through October 2025, vs 1,807 in the same months of 2024 (−26%).
  2. More than a third of all reports are property crime. 9,155 of 20,428 reports (44.8%); larceny-theft alone is 4,795 (23.5%).
  3. Clearances skew toward violent crime. 80.8% of homicides cleared vs 6% of motor vehicle thefts and 9.9% of larcenies (2025, reports cleared ÷ reports received).
  4. A second look at aggravated assault. January (171) ran 6.6× October (26); the year finished down 26%.
  5. Only 10 of 12 months are in file. Year-over-year reads above use matching months only (through October); the missing months are not zeros, and late months can revise.
  6. The biggest volume isn’t violent. Simple assault (3,662) and vandalism (2,216) dwarf the whole personal-safety total (1,823, 8.9% of reports).
  7. Small months, big bars. In 2024, June’s 119 motor vehicle thefts vs August’s 192 is a gap of 73 reports, monthly charts amplify small-number swings. Read the 12-month direction, not one bar.

Takeaways are computed from FBI CDE reported counts (source year 2025, NC0410200). They describe reported data, not forecasts; check the methodology and coverage notes before reuse.

Every number on this page ships in the North Carolina workbook.

Buy the NC workbook - $399

Key Public Safety Indicators

Reported rates per 100,000 residents; national references shown alongside.

Offense Class Annual Count Rate per 100K National Avg vs National
Robbery 334 111.87 48.24 2.32× national
Aggravated Assault 1330 445.47 229.56 1.94× national
Burglary 1022 342.31 188.15 1.82× national
Larceny-theft 4795 1606.02 1106.97 1.45× national
Motor Vehicle Theft 1159 388.19 193.0 2.01× national
FBI NIBRS monthly detail · source year 2025

Greensboro monthly trend: reported counts through October 2025 (partial year)

Annual totals hide timing. The bars below show 2025 reported counts per month for the three highest-relative indicator offenses; each table carries the same numbers with FBI pre-computed rates. The full 19-offense monthly series (2020-2025) is downloadable below.

Robbery, month by month

Preliminary, 334 reports through Oct 2025 (partial reporting year).

Robbery 2025: reported counts and FBI pre-computed rates per 100,000 (partial year: 10 of 12 months)
MonthCountRate per 100KCoverage
Jan 20253210.31Partial year
Feb 20253310.63Partial year
Mar 20253611.6Partial year
Apr 2025289.02Partial year
May 20253310.63Partial year
Jun 20253611.6Partial year
Jul 20255116.43Partial year
Aug 2025309.67Partial year
Sep 20254514.5Partial year
Oct 2025103.22Partial year
Nov 2025--Not reported
Dec 2025--Not reported

Motor Vehicle Theft, month by month

Preliminary, 1159 reports through Oct 2025 (partial reporting year).

Motor Vehicle Theft 2025: reported counts and FBI pre-computed rates per 100,000 (partial year: 10 of 12 months)
MonthCountRate per 100KCoverage
Jan 202513543.5Partial year
Feb 202510935.12Partial year
Mar 202513543.5Partial year
Apr 202511938.35Partial year
May 202512540.28Partial year
Jun 202513242.54Partial year
Jul 202513342.86Partial year
Aug 202513944.79Partial year
Sep 202511236.09Partial year
Oct 2025206.44Partial year
Nov 2025--Not reported
Dec 2025--Not reported

Aggravated Assault, month by month

Preliminary, 1330 reports through Oct 2025 (partial reporting year).

Aggravated Assault 2025: reported counts and FBI pre-computed rates per 100,000 (partial year: 10 of 12 months)
MonthCountRate per 100KCoverage
Jan 202517155.1Partial year
Feb 202511838.02Partial year
Mar 202515248.98Partial year
Apr 202516151.88Partial year
May 202516653.49Partial year
Jun 202513342.86Partial year
Jul 202512239.31Partial year
Aug 202513543.5Partial year
Sep 202514647.05Partial year
Oct 2025268.38Partial year
Nov 2025--Not reported
Dec 2025--Not reported

Clearances: what got cleared in 2025

81% of homicides cleared vs 6% of motor vehicle thefts, clearance follows violent crime, not volume.

Clearances 2025: reports cleared per 100 reports received, highest rate first
OffenseReportedClearedClearance rate
Homicide262180.8%
Aggravated Assault1,33046835.2%
Robbery33412637.7%
Burglary1,02218818.4%
Larceny-theft4,7954739.9%
Motor Vehicle Theft1,159696.0%

Clearances ÷ reports received; clearances may concern earlier reports, so this is not a solve rate.

Monthly counts and FBI pre-computed rates per 100,000, FBI CDE source year 2025, NC0410200. Rates use FBI month-specific covered-population denominators and are shown as published, not recomputed. A hyphen (-) means not reported, not zero. Annual totals equal the sum of shown months within ±2% (see manifest).

Downloads: Greensboro monthly series (JSON) · same data (CSV) · build manifest

Comparing Greensboro to somewhere else? Take the file with you.

Buy the NC workbook - $399

City-specific reading

What drives Greensboro's safety score?

Greensboro ranks in the middle half of the 6 jurisdictions in the current scored comparison set in North Carolina, ahead of approximately 33% of that scored set. The profile uses a reporting population of 298,564 and source-year data through 2025; it is a citywide agency-level comparison, not a neighborhood forecast.

The strongest of the three score components is Personal Safety at 34.26, while Property Security is lowest at 6.08. The 28.18-point spread shows why the composite should be read by component instead of as a single absolute claim about safety.

Among the five public offense indicators, Robbery is highest relative to its national reference at 111.87 per 100,000 (2.32× the national rate). Larceny-theft is lowest on the same relative basis at 1606.02 per 100,000 (1.45× national).

Coverage check: 18 of 18 tracked offense classes have reportable values in this profile. Missing values are not converted to zero.

Public indicator mix

Greensboro, North Carolina recorded 4,795 larceny-theft offenses in 2025, 55.5% of the 8,640 reports across its five public indicators, compared with 334 robbery reports (3.9%); this share covers only those five indicators, excluding other offense classes.

Greensboro, North Carolina recorded 1,330 aggravated assault offenses in 2025, 15.4% of the 8,640 reports across its five public indicators, compared with 334 robbery reports (3.9%); this share covers only those five indicators, excluding other offense classes.

Greensboro, North Carolina recorded 1,159 motor vehicle theft offenses in 2025, 13.4% of the 8,640 reports across its five public indicators, compared with 334 robbery reports (3.9%); this share covers only those five indicators, excluding other offense classes.

Greensboro, North Carolina uses a reporting population of 298,564 residents and has values for 18 of the 18 tracked offense classes (100.0%) in its 2025 profile; coverage describes available classes rather than the share of residents reporting crime.

Greensboro, North Carolina has an adjusted score of 21.51 points out of 100 versus 33.91 in Raleigh, North Carolina, a difference of 12.40 points below that displayed state peer in the 2025 source-year profile; Greensboro ranks 4 of 6 scored jurisdictions in the published state comparison set.

Greensboro, North Carolina has an adjusted score of 21.51 points out of 100 versus 28.57 in Durham, North Carolina, a difference of 7.06 points below that displayed state peer in the 2025 source-year profile; Greensboro ranks 4 of 6 scored jurisdictions in the published state comparison set.

Detailed Crime Class Breakdown

Additional tracked offense classes

  • Homicide
  • Rape
  • Kidnapping/Abduction
  • Human Trafficking
  • Arson
  • Theft From Building
  • Theft From Motor Vehicle
  • Simple Assault
  • Intimidation
  • Stolen Property Offenses
  • Vandalism
  • Weapon Law Violations
  • Drug/Narcotic Violations

Free Vermont sample · Custom data

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Greensboro safe compared to other places in North Carolina?

Greensboro is classified as having low relative safety in the 2026 Safety Atlas Index. It has an adjusted safety score of 21.51 out of 100 and ranks #4 in this comparison set out of the 6 jurisdictions in the current scored comparison set in North Carolina.

What is the crime rate in Greensboro?

Public offense rates are listed above.

What is Greensboro's safety rating?

Greensboro's safety rating in the 2026 Safety Atlas Index is 21.51 out of 100, which ranks #4 in this comparison set out of the 6 jurisdictions in the current scored comparison set in North Carolina. Its overall crime trajectory is currently classified as decreasing, using source-year data through 2025.

What is the safest neighborhood in Greensboro?

This profile covers the reporting jurisdiction; consult local sources for neighborhood detail.

Is Greensboro safer than Charlotte?

Yes. On the 2026 Safety Atlas comparison using FBI source-year 2025 data, Greensboro scores 21.51 (#4 of the 6 scored North Carolina jurisdictions) and Charlotte scores 17.84 (#5 of 6). Both show decreasing displayed trajectories. Raleigh leads the set at 33.91.

Why are some crime statistics locked for Greensboro?

Full offense series: state workbook.

How fresh is the monthly crime data on this page?

Monthly figures track FBI CDE source year 2025, the same vintage as the annual table above. A new FBI release typically lags several months; the caption stamps the source year and export date. Values can revise when the FBI re-publishes. Full monthly series for Greensboro are downloadable as JSON and CSV.

Why does the monthly chart move so much?

Monthly counts are small numbers, a difference of a few reports swings the bar. Reporting practice, staffing, and seasonal patterns all move single months. Read the 12-month direction in the trajectory line, not one bar. This profile measures the reporting jurisdiction only; it cannot rank neighborhoods within Greensboro.

What does the clearance rate on this page mean?

It divides 2025 reports cleared by 2025 reports received for that offense, including clearances of earlier reports, so it is a workload snapshot, not a guarantee a given case is solved. In Greensboro, violent offenses clear at far higher rates than property offenses (homicide 81%, motor vehicle theft 6%). Monthly clearance detail is not published yet.

Reading notes

North Carolina safety directory

Safety Atlas methodology · 2026 coverage report

Cite This Public Safety Profile

Citation formats:

APA Citation Format:
Safety Atlas. (2026). Greensboro, NC Public Safety Profile & Crime Rates. Retrieved from https://www.safetyatlas.us/safety/nc/greensboro
MLA Citation Format:
"Greensboro, NC Public Safety Profile & Crime Rates." Safety Atlas, 2026, https://www.safetyatlas.us/safety/nc/greensboro.

Primary Source Data Integrity

  • Crime Counts: FBI National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) database.
  • Demographics: U.S. Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS) 5-year estimate boundaries.
  • Methodology: Adjusted per-capita normalization with small-sample relief controls. View our complete Methodology Documentation.